×

已将此景点添加至Deep North Japan Concierge我的行程

回到首页 > 专辑 > 日本遗产 & 世界遗产 > 世界遗产:平泉

专辑

世界遗产

早在12世纪,做为东北地区之首府而繁荣昌盛的平泉,就已经拥有大约10万人口,其规模和繁华相比京都是有过之而无不及。闻名遐迩的世界遗产中尊寺和毛越寺自不必说,那令人叹为观止的猊鼻溪绝景,还有曾荣获无数奖项的前泽牛料理等等,昔日繁荣景象皆可从中窥见一斑。探访平泉,定会让您对东北地区的历史,自然,以及饮食等有新的发现。

中尊寺


众所周知,中尊寺是日本最重要的寺庙之一。其历史可以追溯到公元850年。12世纪,当时不断扩充势力的藤原氏将平泉定为奥州(现在的东北)首府,中尊寺也由此为人们所知。寺内的赞衡藏和金色堂因收藏着多达3000余件国宝以及重要文物而闻名。

院内庙宇和神社密集,倘佯其间,仿佛穿越时空,回到了12世纪平安时代。藤原氏没落后,众多殿堂和佛塔被烧毁,唯有此处被完整保留下来,更突出了其特殊性。

被列为国宝的金色堂是中尊寺的精华所在。堂内贴满金箔,发出耀眼的,甚至神秘莫测的光芒,光彩夺目,金碧辉煌。金色堂始建于1124年,供奉着与菩萨,天王等具有同等重要地位的阿弥陀佛。木工,贴金工艺,以及螺钿镶嵌等技术无不令人瞠目结舌,从中也可窥见到持续四代荣华的藤原氏一族的意义。

寺庙建在森林尽头,一座经过精心打理的小山坡上,在此眺望,平泉的街道风貌以及北上川尽收眼底。KANZAN(关山)亭是绝佳的观景台。赏美景之余,品尝美味抹茶以及传统和菓子,是多么美妙的一件事。

毛越寺


毛越寺始建于9世纪,寺内庭园是日本现存为数不多的净土庭园之一。净土庭园大多建于平安时代,重现佛教中的“极乐净土”,几乎所有的庭园皆在正中设有大池塘。建于内乱之后的净土庭园,不仅仅是象征着佛土净地之美,亦是为了告慰无数在长年战乱中敌我双方逝去的亡灵。

净土庭园的魅力,呈现在恬静,优美的大泉池。沿着池塘绕行漫步,便会心静如水,并从净土庭园的设计中深深地感受到佛教徒信仰的理想死后世界。走上几分钟之后,便可以发现池塘的水源。“曲水之宴”就在这蜿蜒曲折的遣水附近举行。

“曲水之宴”是一边写诗或诵唱,一边喝酒尽兴的一种传统活动,曾在贵族之间广为流传。在称作“遣水”的流水里,盛有酒的漆制酒杯浮于水上。酒杯漂到自己面前,便停下手中的笔,举起酒杯一饮而尽,从而诗兴大发。还有比这更优雅的醉酒宴吗?

今天,在毛越寺佛教僧一如既往地在常行堂进行修行。想体验佛教文化的游客,可以参加清晨座禅修行,虽然需要早起,但一定会受益非浅。据说平静的心态使人的感觉更加敏锐,思路更清晰,在清晨伊始进行座禅最为理想。

猊鼻溪


猊鼻溪是东北屈指可数的绝美景观之一。溪谷长约2公里,当地的船夫慢慢划动木篙,游客坐在木舟内欣赏两岸奇景。所需时间大约一个半小时,暖风和煦,水平如镜,奇岩峭壁无比壮观,令人陶醉于其中。往水中投掷鱼饲料,鸭子和鲤鱼就会靠近小船前来觅食。

到了溪谷尽头,有20分钟散步时间。对岸岩壁上有一个洞口,相传如果能将石块投掷进去则会有好运。虽然难度较高,但请一定要尝试一下。

猊鼻溪是一处一年四季都适合前往的观光景点,尤其是秋天,美丽的红叶像烟花一样满山满谷盛开,美不胜收,非常值得一游。到访的游客们都很珍惜共同度过的这段美好时光,每当船只擦肩而过,就互相挥手打招呼。小船顺流而下,船夫吟唱的当地民谣在溪谷中回荡,令人陶醉。伴随着这悠扬的歌声,猊鼻溪之游将深深地印在游客们的记忆之中。

前泽牛


如果喜欢吃牛肉,来到平泉就绝对不能错过前泽牛。前泽牛是日本国内最优质的牛肉,极富盛名。其雪花牛肉富含优良脂肪,溶点低,肉质鲜嫩,入口即化。要品尝前泽牛肉,请一定到位于前泽町的小形烤肉店。直接在网上烤的前泽牛肉,光看着就食欲大增。它同时也是平泉的地方特色美食,来到此地请一定造访。一旦品尝了前泽牛的美味,就会深感普通牛肉之逊色。

达谷窟


在日本国内旅行,会感觉很多寺庙都很雷同。但是,拥有1200年历史的达谷窟是一个例外。建在峭壁下的毘沙门堂镶嵌在岩石之中,其建筑风格极为罕见。安置在此的毘沙门天是为纪念八世纪武将坂上田村麻吕成功征服虾夷而建立的。仔细观赏,便会发现其独特的设计美学。

现今的毘沙门堂是于20世纪以京都清水寺为模型而建,在其左侧山崖,雕刻着大型佛像。此佛像相传于900年前建成,高达6.5米,宽为3.6米,在东北地区实属罕见。依据观看角度不同,佛像的表情也有所不同,时而温柔,时而恐怖。

交通信息


到平泉搭乘新干线比较方便。从东京车站到一关车站所需时间大约2小时,然后转坐JR东北在来线仅需10分钟。从仙台车站到一关车站所需时间大约40分钟。

报道中介绍的观光信息

猊鼻溪泛舟漂流

Takkoku no Iwaya

主要观光资源

日本首个世界自然遗产:白神山地和十二湖

平泉 - 表现佛国土(净土)建筑,庭园及考古学性遗迹群

明治日本的产业革命遗产 炼铁,炼钢,造船,煤炭产业

×

This tourist attraction has been registered in your trip by Deep North Japan Concierge

HOME > FEATURED > JAPAN HERITAGE & WORLD HERITAGE > Hiraizumi - Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land

FEATURED

WORLD HERITAGE

Once the capital of what is now Tohoku, Hiraizumi was a city that rivalled even Kyoto in scale and opulence, with a population of 100,000 people in the 12th century. Today, its legacy re-mains in the magnificent UNESCO World Heritage sites of Chusonji and Motsuji temples, alongside the breathtaking local scenery of Geibikei Gorge and the mouthwatering, award winning Maesawa Beef. Hiraizumi region truly offers travellers a rich and rewarding treasure trove of Tohoku's history, nature and cuisine.

Chuson-ji Temple


Chuson-ji originally dates back to 850 and is regarded as one of the most important Buddhist temples in all of Japan. It rose to prominence during the 12th century, when the powerful Northern Fujiwara Clan, made Hirazimu the capital of Oshu region (modern day Tohoku). Home to the Sankon-zo treasure hall, housing a collection of more than 3,000 National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties and the miraculous Konjikido ‘Golden Hall’.

To wander through the sprawling forest of temples and shrines is to step back in time to the 12th century Heian Period; in many ways, what makes the site so unique is that anything re-mains to this day at all, given that many halls and pagodas in the region were burned down after the downfall of the Fujiwara clan.

Chuson-ji's crown jewel is the Golden Hall (Konjikido), a class 1 national treasure, where you'll be almost blinded by the sheer quantity of gold used upon the surfaces of the unnaturally illuminated mausoleum. Built in 1124, the Golden Hall is dedicated to Amida Nyorai, the Buddha of Infinite Light who's images can be found alongside Bodhisattvas and guardian kings. It's dazzling decorative woodwork, metal work and mother of pearl inlays give a remarkable sense of the importance of the four generations of the Fujiwara clan that remain preserved together.

The temple complex lies upon a small mountain hidden amongst an enchanting forest, with sweeping view over the Hiraizumi plain and the Kitakami river. The best spot to appreciate the view is from the Kanzantei cafe you can enjoy Matcha green tea and a choice of delicious traditional confectionary.

Motsu-ji Temple


Founded in the 9th century, Motsu-ji temple is home to the Jodo teien Heian garden, one of the last remaining pure land gardens in Japan. Pure land gardens were popular in the Heian period and recreated the idealist “Buddhist paradise”, typically centred around a large pond. It was built after a cruel civil war in which many lost their lives. The Jodo Teien Heian garden represents Buddhist paradise, not only for its beauty, but also as a symbol to the people who lost their lives in the civil war; both enemy and ally for their way to Jodo; heaven.

The best way to appreciate the garden is to stroll the circumference of the Oizume ga ike, along its gently lapping shores, where you can feel truly relaxed and quickly understand how the idealistic Buddhist afterlife is reflected through the gardens aesthetic design. Wandering for several minutes, you'll soon find the ponds source; the meandering ‘yarimizu’ stream, where every May the Floating Poetry Festival takes place.

Once an aristocratic tradition, the “Kyokusui no Utage” Floating Poetry festival combines drinking sake with writing and reciting poetry. Lacquerware sake cup (sakazuki) are filled with sake and floated down stream. Those taking part must write a poem before the Sakazuki arrives before them. Only then can the poet stop writing, elegantly remove the cup from the stream and drink it with the hope of gaining inspiration. It's without a doubt, the most refined way of getting drunk.

Today, monks at Motsuji still train within the Jogyo-do, and for visitors looking to immerse themselves in Buddhist culture, there is the opportunity to take part in early morning Zazen (seated meditation). The peaceful and calming practice is said to sharpen your senses and give you a clear mind, making it the ideal way to start your day.

Geibikei


Considered one of Tohoku's most scenic locations, Geibikei gorge runs 2km in length and is traversed by a flat-bottomed boat, gently pushed along by a friendly local boatman. For 90 minutes your senses are treated to the calm breeze, rippling waters, tall cliffs and mesmeris-ing rock formations, as an escort of ducks and koi carp swim alongside your boat, hoping to catch a snack from generous visitors.

After gliding along to the end of the gorge, passengers can wander the area for 20 minutes on foot, where you'll find a hole in the edge of the cliff on the opposite side of the water, in which you can attempt to throw rocks for good fortune (it looks a lot easier than it is).

Geibikei is an impressive experience all year round, but particularly in Autumn, when the fall colours explode into a captivating natural fireworks display. There's a real sense that everybody who makes the journey is enjoying it together, as fellow travellers smile and wave from passing boats, and the trip is punctuated by the boatman singing a local traditional folk song as they push you carefully along the river, towards your final destination, with their voices echoing from the towering nearby cliffs.

Cuisine: Maesawa Beef


If you're a lover of beef, visiting Hiraizumi without trying the local award winning Maesawa wagyu beef would be unthinkable. Maesawa beef is considered to be one of the top cuts of Wagyu beef in Japan, with a melt-in-your-mouth texture, as a result of the streaks of fat running through the beautifully marbled beef, which melt at a low temperature. One of the best places to appreciate Maesawa is Restaurant Ogata, a Yakiniku restaurant in Maesawa town, where you can prepare the mouthwatering cuts of beef firsthand over a bbq grill. Be sure to drop by and get a taste for the region; eating regular beef will never be the same again.

Takkoku no Iwaya


If you travel Japan extensively, sometimes it can feel like many temples look and feel the same. This isn't a problem you'll find at the 1,200 year old site of Takkoku no Iwaya, where the Bishamon-do Hall is seamlessly built into the base of a cliff, blending in amongst the rocks. Built to enshrine the Bishamonten in memory of a military victory in northern Japan, it's a great spot for contemplation and for admiring the temple's unique design aesthetic.

Whilst the current Bishamon-do hall was built in the 20th century, modelled on Kyoto's famous Kiyomizu-dera temple, on the cliff to the left of the hall you'll find a large image of Buddha carved into the rocks. At 6.5 meters tall and 3.6 meters long, it's a rare sight to behold in Tohoku region, dating back over 900 years ago. Depending on what angle you look at it, you'll either find the face uplifting or slightly unnerving.

ACCESS


Hiraizumi is easily accessible by Shinkansen. From Tokyo station to Ichinoseki takes approxi-mately 2 hours. From there transfer to local train on the JR Tohoku line which takes 10 minutes. Alternatively from Sendai station to Ichinoseki takes just 40 minutes.

Tourist information that covered in the articles

Geibi Valley River Boat Ride

  • Related Information (Visit "Travel to Tohoku")
  • See Reviews

Takkoku no Iwaya

Main Travel Resources

Japan's First UNESCO World Heritage Site Shirakami Sanchi Juniko "Twelve Lakes"

Hiraizumi - Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land

Sites of Japan's Meiji Industrial Revolution: Iron and Steel, Shipbuilding and Coal Mining